Facebook has changed its features a lot over the years. In fact, the Facebook we have today is very different from the Facebook of yesteryear.
For Instance, one of these changes has occurred with the Facebook timeline, which is a newer invention. Let’s take a look at what this newer feature is and how it works in the grand scheme of things in the article below.
What is A Facebook Timeline In 2023?
Facebook timeline combined the Facebook wall and profile into a single page in 2023. Therefore, the Facebook wall and profile page no longer exist, as they now exist on the timeline. Additionally, a timeline lists all the posts ever made by a person, including major events that they’ve entered, in reverse chronological order.
For information on how to view the Facebook timeline, as well as how to change the settings surrounding it, keep reading!
How Do I Get To My Facebook Timeline?
You can view your timeline by visiting your profile page, and you’ll usually get there by clicking your profile picture.
Once you’re on your profile, your timeline will appear in the middle column.
Additionally, for those on the app, the timeline will start after you’ve scrolled down past your basic profile information.
Furthermore, on this timeline, you’ll be able to see everything that’s been posted about you on Facebook, as well as all the information you’ve posted.
Also, it will be in chronological order, starting with the newest item.
What Does It Mean If Someone Posts on Your Timeline?
By default, anyone can post on your timeline and you can post on other people’s timeline, as well.
However, these settings can be changed in your profile. For instance, you can select only what you can post on your timeline.
A few years back, it was pretty common for other people to post on someone’s timeline, but now, this rarely happens.
In fact, it can be seen as rude and a bit embarrassing for the owner of the timeline.
Additionally, direct posting is not private; instead, this sort of posting is open and can be seen by everyone.
Therefore, this isn’t a post that you should do for private communications or embarrassing comments.
Furthermore, you do not control other people’s timeline settings. So, sometimes, you won’t be able to post on someone else’s timeline because it will be listed as private.
Can Anyone See my Facebook Timeline?
By default, your Facebook timeline is public. Therefore, anyone can see it, though not everyone can write on it.
Luckily, though, you can make your timeline private, which means only your friends will be able to see it.
With that said, doing so requires going through a maze of privacy settings that control just about everything on Facebook.
However, if you’re willing to dive into these settings, you can switch your timeline to private.
For instance, many public figures do not allow others to post on their wall at all.
While, other people allow others to make a post, but do not allow these posts to be viewed by everyone.
In this way, you have a lot of control over who sees your timeline.
Keep in mind, though, that the default setting is completely public.
Therefore, if you have never changed the settings, you should assume that it is public.
How Do You See Posts on Your Timeline?
To see posts currently on your timeline, all you have to do is go to your profile page.
Furthermore, your timeline is the main portion of your profile.
Additionally, timelines list the newest post first. Then, everything is listed chronologically all the way to your very first post (or your birthday, if you have that listed).
While all posts you’ve ever made are on your timeline, some other posts are, too.
For instance, any posts that you’ve been tagged in will appear on your timeline.
Facebook also fills in milestones based on the information you’ve entered, like when you were born.
How Do You See Someone’s Timeline?
To see someone else’s timeline, you have to go to their Facebook page.
Furthermore, to do so, you can use the search bar to find them. Or, if you see a post they’ve made, you can click on their picture to view their profile.
Once you’re on their profile, the first bit of the page will be basic information. For instance, their name and picture will appear here.
However, directly below that will be their timeline.
Additionally, this timeline will be displayed just like yours is. Yet, you will only be able to see posts that you have permission to.
While many people allow some information to be available to the public, other posts may be private.
Therefore, unless you’re a friend, you will only be able to see the public information.
Additionally, if that person allows others to post on their timeline, you will also see a box where you can type a message.
However, if you don’t see this box, it usually means that you don’t have permission to post on their wall.
When Someone Posts On Your Timeline Who Sees It?
Usually, when someone posts on your timeline, everyone sees it.
While this is the default setting, you can change it in Facebook’s privacy settings.
For instance, you can change the settings so that only your friends see your post.
You can also change the settings so that no one else can post on your timeline. If you’re looking to have complete control of what appears, this is your best option.
To know more, you can also read our posts on Facebook Reels, Facebook Wi-Fi, and Facebook Workplace.
Years ago, Facebook had a “wall” and separate profile pages. However, the company recently combined these features into a singular page called a timeline. Furthermore, each person has their own timeline, which lists all the posts they’ve made in reverse order.
Therefore, this really works like a timeline. Additionally, major events and posts they’ve been tagged in are also listed. Depending on the settings, you can also write directly onto someone’s timeline, though, many people have turned off this feature.