Anyone enduring a gluten-free diet understands the hassles of locating food they can eat daily. To cater to contemporary diners’ varied health and diet concerns, restaurants are now providing gluten-free foods.
While chains like Burger King have long offered vegetarian options, you might wonder if their famous fries are also gluten-free. If you have longed to have this question answered, read below to learn more!
Are Burger King Fries Gluten-Free In 2023?
Unfortunately, Burger King Fries are not considered gluten-free because they cook them in fryers that contain breaded items like onion rings, hashbrowns, and fish. Instead, Burger King sells many items that may be considered gluten-free, such as salads without croutons and frozen drinks.
Want to know more about what Burger King fries are made of and if they have other gluten-free items? Keep reading to find out!
What Are Burger King Fries Made of?
Burger King fries have 13 ingredients; namely, Potatoes, Soybean Oil or Canola and Palm Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Potato Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate added to preserve natural color.
Although rice flour is itself gluten-free, Burger King still released a statement telling patrons that their fries are cooked alongside products with gluten in them.
Because of this, it might be best for anyone who has gluten allergies to consider BK fries off-limits.
Does Burger King Have Gluten-Free Menu Options?
The answer to this is yes if you are careful how you order your meal.
For example, Burger King allows you to have it made “your way” so you can customize or substitute items.
For instance, removing the bun from your whopper, ordering apple slices, or a milkshake is a way to enjoy a gluten-free option from Burger King.
Does Burger King Offer a Gluten-Free Breakfast?
As with their dinner menu, it is best to order Burger King breakfast items minus the bread. For example, you can remove the croissant or biscuit and simply order the sausage, egg, and cheese portion of the sandwich.
Additionally, other gluten-free options include the omelet, sliced ham, bacon, and fountain drinks. When in doubt, ask a knowledgeable Burger King employee for assistance.
Are Burger King’s Sandwich Buns Gluten-Free?
No, they are not gluten-free; however, Burger King allows you to order many of their sandwiches without the bun. Additionally, burger king patties are gluten-free, including their hamburger and sausage patties.
So if you want a genuinely gluten-free dining experience at Burger King, you can ask them to hold the bun on your whopper sandwich. In some cases, this may mean getting the primary ingredients in a salad bowl.
Are Burger King’s Onion Rings Gluten-Free?
Burger King’s onion rings contain wheat, so they are not gluten-free. Unfortunately, the Burger King hashbrowns are also not gluten friendly.
However, you will find some of their more popular items are gluten-free as well. These include but are not limited to:
- Garden Fresh Salad with Cranberry, Apple and Tendergrill Chicken
- Any sandwich without the bun including Tendergrill Chicken Breast
- Desserts like Caramel Sundae, Chocolate Fudge Sundae, Strawberry Sundae, and the Vanilla Soft Serve
- Various condiments and sauces such as Sweet and Sour, Buffalo, Honey Mustard, Marinara, Ranch, Zesty Onion ring, and many others…
Are Burger King Salads Truly Gluten-Free?
If you don’t add croutons or choose breaded meats, many of Burger King’s salads and accompanying dressings are gluten-free.
For example, the garden side salad is completely gluten-free. Burger King’s gluten-free dressings include Ken’s Honey Mustard Avocado ranch, Light Honey Balsamic, and Apple Cider Vinaigrette.
Are Burger King Drinks Gluten-Free?
Many of the drinks on the Burger King menu are indeed gluten-free. This includes any of their shakes, frappes, and ice coffees as well.
Fountain drinks are gluten-free by default, so you can never go wrong with grabbing a nice tall Coke or Sprite. Icees are also gluten-free, which you can indulge when you are in the mood for an ice-cold chiller.
What Fast Food Chains Offer Gluten-Free Menus?
There are quite a few fast-food establishments that provide gluten-free options for their patrons.
The list below is not exhaustive, but it offers the top companies that look for individuals with gluten sensitivities and allergies.
The fast-food list includes:
- Boat Market
- Five Guys
Dine-in restaurants also provide gluten-free options as well. Many of these will indicate gluten-free plates on their menu:
- Old Spaghetti Factory
- Outback Steakhouse
- Bonefish Grill
- Moe’s Southwest Grill
- F. Changs
If you don’t see a gluten-free option on your dine-in menu, feel free to ask a server or manager if any options are available to you.
To learn more, you might also be interested in reading up on whether or not Burger King has ice cream, if Burger King is halal, and if Burger King has milkshakes.
Although Burger King offers items with gluten-free ingredients, the potential for cross-contamination from gluten products cooked in the same fryers is high. Additionally, you may be able to enjoy gluten-free Burger King items if you toss aside buns, croissants, and biscuits.
People with gluten allergies and sensitivities must be careful when eating on the fly. With this in mind, order with care and ask questions about menu items you purchase when dining at Burger King.