If you’re sensitive to gluten, you’re likely on a gluten-free diet, but it’s hard to know at fast-food restaurants like McDonald’s what items are okay for your tummy.
Have you been thinking of trying McDonald’s fries but wondered if they are gluten-free? We’ve got the surprising fry answer and many more gluten-free McDonald’s facts below!
Are McDonald’s Fries Gluten-Free?
Unfortunately, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free due to the fact they contain both hydrolyzed wheat and milk, which are ingredients that are incorporated into the fries at the potato processing plant. The French fries also contain a natural beef flavor to give them their famous taste.
If you’re wondering whether or not McDonald’s serves other gluten-free menu options and more, then keep reading to find out!
What’s in McDonald’s French Fries?
McDonald’s fries aren’t considered to be gluten-free due to the wheat and milk derivatives in the potatoes themselves, which occur at the potato processing plant.
In addition to the above ingredients, McDonald’s fries also contain natural beef flavor, hydrogenated soybean oil, vegetable oil, dextrose, salt, and sodium acid pyrophosphate.
Are Hashbrowns at McDonald’s Gluten-Free?
Since the hashbrowns at McDonald’s use the same potatoes as the French fries, they are not gluten-free.
Wheat and milk are listed as ingredients for the hashbrowns, just as they are for the French fries.
On top of that, cross-contamination is highly likely since the hashbrowns and French fries are cooked in the same fryer.
Does McDonald’s Have a Gluten-Free Menu?
Unfortunately, McDonald’s does not have a dedicated gluten-free menu, so it can be tricky to know which products are safe for those with gluten sensitivity to eat.
By the same token, it’s not too complicated to figure out some gluten-free menu items, especially if you ask for modifications to be made to the food item while it’s being prepared.
Is There Anything at McDonald’s That’s Gluten-Free?
McDonald’s does have gluten-free options, especially if you’re willing to ask for modifications to the normal menu items.
For example, McDonald’s burgers are safe to eat if you’re gluten-free, just don’t get bread (which can be replaced with lettuce).
Additionally, if you order a Big Mac, you also need to tell the staff to leave off the Big Mac sauce to keep the burger gluten-free. Cross-contamination is always a risk with burgers, though.
Gluten-free can also be found in most salads, although crispy chicken and tortilla strips should be avoided, so order salads without those options or have them removed beforehand.
For something sweeter, McFlurry options without brownies, Oreos, and cookies are perfect gluten-free options if you have a sweet tooth. As a bonus, a caramel or hot fudge sundae is also acceptable, as well as a parfait!
Besides that, drinks such as coffee, smoothies, and frappuccinos are delicious gluten-free options at McDonald’s.
Does McDonald’s Offer Gluten-Free Buns?
At this moment, McDonald’s does not have gluten-free bun options available to customers and doesn’t have plans to incorporate them into their menu. Nearly all buns contain high levels of wheat.
Alternatively, you can always purchase a pack of gluten-free buns and grab one to take with you if you know you’re going to McDonald’s and want the entire sandwich experience.
Likewise, you can skip bringing your bun and just order the sandwich without the bun to keep the gluten-free diet, although it doesn’t taste the same.
Does McDonald’s Have Gluten-Free Breakfast?
McDonald’s eggs, bacon, and breakfast sausage are three gluten-free menu items that you can order, but you should order them as side items to ensure no gluten touches these products.
In addition to that, fruit and yogurt parfait without granola and fruit and maple oatmeal is suitable for those sensitive to gluten. Apple slices are also a great breakfast snack.
Are McDonald’s Salad Dressings Gluten-Free?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you’ll enjoy the fact that McDonald’s does have gluten-free salad dressing you can use on a variety of foods, including:
- Newman’s Own Cobb Dressing
- Newman’s Own Creamy Caesar Dressing
- Newman’s Own Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette
- Newman’s Own Ranch Dressing
Together with one of the many salads that McDonald’s offers, you can use these dressings to create your own gluten-free salad for either lunch or dinner.
Gluten-Free McDonald’s Menu Options Exist in Multiple Countries Outside U.S.
Even though McDonald’s in the United States doesn’t cater specifically to gluten-free diets, the fast-food chain does offer gluten-free options in other countries, including:
Moreover, McDonald’s locations in these countries offer gluten-free buns so that you can have the whole sandwich experience, and it’s no additional cost to you. Just ask for it!
To know more, you can also see our related posts on whether or not McDonald’s fries are vegetarian, if McDonald’s frappes have caffeine, and when does McDonald’s serve lunch.
Regrettably, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free, but some people with gluten sensitivity can eat them and claim no bad side effects.
If you have severe gluten sensitivity, it’s better not to even try them since they do contain milk and wheat.
Even though McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free, there are still plenty of gluten-free options at McDonald’s available to you so that you can still eat at the fast-food restaurant as often as you please.