Does McDonald’s’ Ice Cream Have Eggs? (Full Guide)

McDonald’s serves ice cream throughout the world at most of its locations. While the flavors can differ, anyone who has stopped at a McDonald’s has probably seen some kind of ice cream on the menu.

However, if you’re allergic to eggs, you may be cautious about trying this ice cream. Keep reading for information on the egg content in McDonald’s’ ice cream!

Does McDonald’s’ Ice Cream Have Eggs In [currentyear]?

McDonald’s’ ice cream does not contain eggs as of [currentyear]. While some soft serve has egg yolks or custard, McDonald’s’ ice cream does not fall into this category. However, that doesn’t mean cross-contamination won’t occur, as other items at McDonald’s do contain eggs. We recommend asking if your dietary needs can be accommodated before ordering.

Keep reading for information on other McDonald’s items and the egg content, including the ice cream cone!

Does McDonald’s’ Ice Cream Cone Have Eggs?

The cone that McDonald’s uses for soft serve are egg-free, according to the company. Furthermore, the ice cream itself is egg-free.

Therefore, if you have an egg allergy, you should be able to eat this ice cream without a problem. However, remember that cross-contamination is always possible.

Different stores have policies set in place to prevent this, but some don’t have any policies.

For this reason, if you’re extremely allergic to eggs, we recommend asking if the store can accommodate your eating needs before ordering.

What Are The Ingredients In McDonald’s’ Ice Cream?

What Are The Ingredients In McDonald’s’ Ice Cream?

The ingredients in McDonald’s’ ice cream are typical of any ice cream and include:

  • Milk
  • Sugar
  • Cream
  • Corn Syrup
  • Natural Flavor
  • Mono and Diglycerides
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Guar Gum
  • Carrageenan
  • Vitamin A Palmitate

Keep in mind that the ice cream cone did recently go through a recipe change.

That said, the company is beginning to move away from artificial ingredients, meaning McDonald’s uses real vanilla instead of fake vanilla in its ice cream recipe.

Still, this ingredient change did not impact the ice cream’s allergen status. It still doesn’t contain eggs and had not contained eggs previously.

Is McDonald’s’ Ice Cream Vegan?

No, McDonald’s uses real milk in its ice cream. Therefore, McDonald’s’ ice cream isn’t compatible with a vegan diet.

However, milk is the only non-vegan ingredient, as the other ingredients primarily come from plants.

Currently, no McDonald’s dessert is vegan in the United States. But, if you live in Germany, you can access the vegan ice cream, which has rave reviews.

Simply put, this ice cream isn’t made with cream and is essentially sorbet. While this menu item is debuting in Germany, there is a chance that it’ll end up in America.

Does Soft Serve Ice Cream Usually Contain Egg?

Sometimes, soft serve does contain egg. Usually, this occurs when companies mix in egg yolks to create a fluffy soft serve ice cream. Others will add frozen custard to certain flavors.

Therefore, while eggs aren’t always a thing you find in ice cream, we recommend being cautious of soft serve if you have an allergen.

Essentially, it is best to ask the store before ordering the ice cream. Plus, you should remember that cross-contamination is possible as well.

Just because a particular recipe doesn’t contain eggs doesn’t mean it hasn’t come into contact with them.

To learn more, you can also read our posts on whether or not McDonald’s sells cake, is McDonald’s ice cream real, and does McDonald’s have frozen cake.


Neither the cone nor ice cream McDonald’s uses contain any sort of egg. While the ice cream recently went through a recipe revision, it still doesn’t have eggs and didn’t contain eggs before.

However, some McDonald’s items contain eggs, and cross-contamination can occur in some instances.

Photo of author

Mackenzie Jerks

Mackenzie is a freelance writer and editor, published author, and music enthusiast who holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. When she’s not writing, Mackenzie is either wrapped up in a book, discovering new music, or introducing herself to a new fitness regimen.

Leave a Comment