Does Popeyes Have Vegan Options? (All You Need to Know)

Due to medical and lifestyle reasons, some people prefer to eat plant-based food items. As a result, fast-food restaurants have been keen to add vegan options.

That being said, in case you are wondering whether Popeyes have vegan options, keep reading to learn all you need to know!

Does Popeyes Have Vegan Options In 2022?

Although Popeyes specializes in serving chicken-based items, the restaurant offers a few vegan options in 2022. The vegan options available at the restaurant include vegan burgers, mashed potatoes, and corn, among other items. However, it is always important to confirm with the restaurant to be sure that an item at Popeyes is vegan. 

If you want more information on the vegan options available at Popeyes, and much more, keep reading for more useful facts!

What Are the Vegan Options Available at Popeyes?

Popeyes is a restaurant that specializes in offering chicken-based food options. Therefore, it has limited vegan-friendly options.

Among the vegan options available at the restaurant are the following:

1. Vegan Burgers

Although Popeyes recently announced the introduction of the first plant-based sandwich, the sandwich is only available in Europe.

The vegan sandwich also referred to as the vegan burger, features a breaded and fried red bean patty, some lettuce, and tomato on a bun.

The burger is also slathered in a Creole-inspired sauce that is made using garlic, onion, peppers, tomato, and parsley.

2. Baguette

Baguette is a long and thin loaf of French bread that is made of wheat, hence making it unsuitable for people seeking gluten-free food items.

Popeyes baguette has 90 calories, with 71% of the calories from carbohydrates.

3. Corn on the Cob (minus the butter)

Corn on the cob has been an ideal snack for most customers at Popeyes.

However, since Popeyes prepares the corn on the cob with butter, you should request them not to add butter to the corn.

Moreover, it is important to confirm whether the corn on the cob has been prepared with milk since some outlets may use it.

4. Mashed Potatoes (minus the gravy)

Popeyes serves mashed potatoes that are combined with Cajun Gravy.

The mashed potatoes are vegetarian, while the gravy is not vegan since it is made of ground beef and pork, among other ingredients. 

Consequently, since the mashed potatoes are vegetarian and the gravy is not, one must request the restaurant not to add the gravy.

It is also important to confirm with the restaurant before ordering, since some restaurant locations may add milk to the mashed potatoes.

5. Po’boy (customized)

Popeyes Po’boy is customizable, but only in select locations.

Typically, Po’boy is loaded with chicken tenders, veggies, and sauces.

The chicken in the case can be swapped with shrimp or fish if you request a non-vegan option.

Depending on your preference, you can request the Po’boy to be served with a non-vegetarian sauce and protein, or some veggies and a layer of vegan sauce. 

6. Grits (made with water)

6. Grits (made with water) Popeyes

Popeyes grits is a plain and simple porridge dish that is served as part of the restaurant’s breakfast menu.

The porridge is typically prepared with water, hence vegetarian.

However, some Popeyes restaurants may add butter or milk when preparing the porridge.

Therefore, if you’re seeking a vegan dish, you can request the ingredient information before placing an order.

7. Applesauce

Popeyes Apple sauce is a delicious relish made from apples.

Typically, the apples are stewed and sweetened to create a slightly pulpy and thick sauce. It is also mixed with lemon juice, apple puree, water, and cinnamon.

8. Jalapenos

Popeyes Jalapenos are vegan with no animal-based flavoring or dressing.

They are usually placed on the restaurant table in little cups.

9. Beverages

Most Popeyes beverage options contain vegan items.

The vegan drinks available at the restaurant include the following:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Iced Tea
  • Sprite
  • Pepper
  • Fanta Orange
  • Fanta Strawberry
  • Diet Coke
  • Pepsi
  • Mountain Dew
  • Bottled Nestle Pure Life Purified Water
  • Hawaiian Punch

10. Sauces and Condiments

Although most Popeyes sauces are non-vegan, there are a few vegan options like the following:

  • Cocktail sauce
  • BoldBQ Sauce
  • Sweet Heat Sauce

Are Popeyes Fries Vegan?

Popeyes fries are considered vegan-friendly since they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

However, several online sources classify the fries as non-vegan since they are cooked in animal fat.

According to the restaurant website, the fries contain cholesterol which is from animal fat.

Are Popeyes Beans and Rice Vegan?

Unfortunately, the rice and red beans at Popeyes are not vegan, as the beans and rice are cooked with bacon and pork fat to create a unique flavor.

Are the Mashed Potatoes at Popeyes Vegan?

The mashed potatoes at Popeyes are vegan only if you take them without the gravy that is usually served with the dish.

Normally, the gravy is prepared with ground beef and pork, hence making it non-vegan.

Does Popeyes Have a Veggie Burger?

Popeyes does have a veggie burger, although the burger is only available in the UK. However, there are underway plans to add the vegan option in other Popeyes restaurant outlets.

To know more, you can also read our posts on whether or not Popeyes has milkshakes, does Popeyes have chicken nuggets, and does Popeyes have chicken livers.

Conclusion

Popeyes majorly offers non-vegan food options. It only has a few vegan-friendly food items, such as the vegan burger, corn on the cob, and mashed potatoes.

However, customers who are simply plant-based eaters and not vegan can enjoy the fries, which only contain cholesterol as an animal by-product.

Photo of author

Florence Howard

Florence Howard has been freelance writing for over a decade, and has a vocational background in retail, tech, and marketing. Outside of work, she enjoys listening to rock and metal, and playing with her dog and cat.

Leave a Comment