Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Bread? (+ Other Common FAQs)

In recent years, several companies began offering foods to meet different dietary restrictions, like gluten-free options. However, it’s difficult to know exactly which foods have gluten in them.

Also, it can be tricky for those trying to avoid gluten to find choices at fast-food restaurants such as Subway. If you’re wondering whether Subway offers any gluten-free bread, keep reading!

Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Bread In 2022?

Only some Subway locations offer gluten-free bread as of 2022. To find out if your Subway location serves gluten-free bread, contact the store directly. All gluten-free breads served at Subway are prepared in a gluten-free facility. Still, Subway cannot guarantee its gluten-free products will remain 100% gluten-free after reaching the restaurant.

If you’re curious about the gluten-free bread at Subway or have further questions about its gluten-free products, keep reading for much more helpful information!

What Is Subway’s Gluten-Free Bread Made Of?

According to the website Gluten-Free Living, Subway’s gluten-free bread contains the following ingredients:

  • Egg whites
  • Cornstarch
  • Modified cornstarch
  • Tapioca starch
  • Palm oil
  • Sugar
  • Distilled monoglycerides
  • Yeast
  • Rice bran and germ
  • Salt
  • Natural flavor
  • Leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, monocalcium phosphate)
  • Pectin
  • Xanthan gum
  • Carbohydrate gum
  • Guar gum and enzyme

For those with other food allergies, some of these ingredients may be off-limits. So, keep this in mind if you’re considering ordering gluten-free bread.

How Does Subway’s Gluten-Free Bread Taste?

Because Subway’s gluten-free bread consists mainly of egg whites and cornstarch, some with health concerns may find that it’s not the most nutritious option.

However, the taste is not bad at all. That said, the gluten-free bread at Subway has been described as having a “soft and airy texture.”

While the long list of ingredients in the bread may be off-putting to some, the bread tastes pretty good.

Also, for those who have access to a Subway that carries gluten-free bread, it may be a welcome change from salads or other non-bread menu items.

Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Bread In The US?

Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Bread In The US?

Yes, Subway carries gluten-free bread in some of its US locations. However, it’s unclear exactly what percentage of Subways have this option, but it does seem to be available in various states.

According to some sources, select stores in Texas, Minnesota, Washington, and Oregon are where you might be able to find gluten-free bread.

Still, it’s always best to contact a specific store for more info.

Do All Subway Locations Have Gluten-Free Bread?

While many Subways do offer gluten-free bread, unfortunately, Subway does not offer it in all locations. Hopefully, in time, it will expand this helpful option to all of its stores.

What At Subway Is Gluten-Free?

Subway actually offers a wide variety of gluten-free menu items, which is good news for those who can’t have gluten.

In addition to the gluten-free bread in some locations, Subway’s meats are nearly all gluten-free.

On top of this, all of the cheeses, vegetable toppings, and dressings are gluten-free. However, keep in mind that the possibility exists that gluten may come into contact with your food.

Additionally, it’s worth noting that a few types of meat at Subway do contain gluten, including the grilled chicken with teriyaki sauce and the meatballs with marinara.

Another great gluten-free option that’s fairly new at Subway is the bready bowl or protein bowl, essentially a footlong sub in a bowl without the bread.

Furthermore, Subway offers several gluten-free soups, including black bean soup and broccoli cheddar soup.

Of course, a regular salad is another great menu item from Subway.

For the most part, these should be free of gluten, and they’re a delicious way to enjoy Subway’s veggie and meat toppings with a great salad dressing.

Keep in mind that some of Subway’s salads do contain gluten, so be sure to steer clear of these if you cannot have gluten. However, most of the salads are gluten-free and should be fine.

For example, the salads at Subway that contain gluten include sweet onion chicken teriyaki salad, seafood sensation salad, and the meatball marinara salad.

Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Sauces?

There is more great news for those with gluten allergies, as most Subway sauces are gluten-free.

For example, the gluten-free sauces at Subway include buffalo sauce, caesar dressing, honey mustard sauce, and mayonnaise.

Additionally, other gluten-free sauces and dressings from Subway include the various oils, vinaigrette, sweet onion sauce, and brown and yellow mustards.

For a complete list of its gluten-free sauces, you can always contact Subway directly, especially if you are unsure whether a sauce or other item has gluten or is cross-contaminated.

To know more about Subway, you can also read our posts on the Subway cheese types, what are the sauces at Subway, and if Subway wash their vegetables.

Conclusion

Subway offers gluten-free bread in some of its select store locations around the country.

That said, the gluten-free bread has had positive reviews, described as having a light, soft texture and a good taste.

If you are unsure if your Subway carries gluten-free bread, contact the store directly to find out.

For those with gluten allergies, Subway also offers several salads, soups, and other non-bread menu items.

Photo of author

Marques Thomas

Marques Thomas graduated with a MBA in 2011. Since then, Marques has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Marques is also the head writer and founder of QuerySprout.com.

Leave a Comment