What Is Verizon Safety Mode? (All You Need To Know)

Verizon has become one of the most reliable and popular cell phone networks, and one reason is that it offers a lot of additional benefits and features to customers, such as safety mode.

However, you might be wondering: what is Verizon safety mode and how does it benefit you as a customer? If so, continue reading to find out what I’ve discovered about Verizon safety mode!

What Is Verizon Safety Mode In 2022?

Verizon safety mode allows customers to keep using their data after they’ve gone over their monthly data usage without any additional fees as of 2022. Safety mode does not apply to the Unlimited plans, however, since those data speeds are automatically throttled after the premium usage allowance has been met. 

Do you want to know more about Verizon safety mode, such as what the speed is or how you can get out of safety mode? Keep reading to learn all of the additional facts!

What Does it Mean to Be in Safety Mode with Verizon?

Safety mode is a feature that allows you to continue using the data on your Verizon phone, but you’ll be able to avoid the expensive overage fees associated with premium data.

However, those on an Unlimited plan are not going to have the safety mode feature for their device, as Unlimited plans already throttle your data speed after you’ve reached your cap.

When you’re in safety mode, you can still browse the internet and use your data, even if you’ve exceeded the limit halfway through the mode.

However, it should be noted that the data speeds are reduced greatly.

What Is Verizon Safety Mode Speed?

As mentioned, speeds are greatly reduced in safety mode, so you can expect your speed to be 128Kbps, which is much slower than you’re used to, but still usable for certain tasks!

However, if you’re someone that likes to stream audio and video, you might find it almost impossible to do in safety mode, so it’s best to use it for general web browsing.

How Do I Get Out of Safety Mode on Verizon?

You can easily turn safety mode off on Verizon phones, but doing so will mean you’ll be charged for the premium data speeds if you go over. To turn off safety mode, follow these steps:

  • Download the My Verizon App on Google Play or Apple’s App Store
  • Sign in to My Verizon with your account information
  • Click the “Menu” icon
  • Tap on “Data Hub”
  • Toggle the switch to disable safety mode

In addition, you also can use the Verizon website to turn off safety mode, which is simple if you follow these steps:

  • Sign in to the My Verizon website with your login credentials
  • Click on “Data” and then “Data Overview”
  • Head to the “My Usage” section
  • Toggle the switch to turn off safety mode

However, it’s important to note that only the account owner or manager can turn safety mode on or off on the account.

Does Verizon Safety Mode Apply to All Lines?

Does Verizon Safety Mode Apply to All Lines?

Safety mode will apply to all lines in your account, which is one reason why only the account owner or manager can turn on and off safety mode.

As a result, you don’t have to worry about making sure that your spouse or family members aren’t going over their data and running up your phone bill.

Who’s Eligible for Verizon Safety Mode?

Not everyone will be eligible for Verizon Safety Mode, so before you go looking for this feature, make sure that you’re in one of the following Verizon safety mode eligible groups:

  • 5GB Shared Data Plan
  • 10GB Shared Data Plan
  • The New Verizon Plan (no longer available)
  • Just Kids Plan (safety mode is enabled automatically)

Does Verizon Safety Mode Turn on Automatically Every Month?

If you’ve signed up for Verizon safety mode and have it enabled, it’ll turn on automatically during any month where you’ve gone over your data usage.

Therefore, you don’t need to worry about keeping track of your data every month to manually turn safety mode on. 

This is convenient and a great way to avoid extra fees for the overage.

However, if at any point you turn safety mode off, you’ll be charged overage fees if you go over your data, so it’s best to just leave it on as a backup option.

Is Verizon Safety Mode Free?

Verizon safety mode is free to use for those on eligible plans, so you don’t need to worry about paying for this optional feature Verizon provides for customers.

Is Verizon Safety Mode Worth It?

Verizon safety mode is worth it for those that aren’t on an Unlimited plan, because overage fees for data can be expensive and lead to you paying hundreds of dollars per month.

For example, if Verizon charges $15 for each GB of data you go over, and you go over by 10GB, then you’ve just added $150 to your phone bill, which is more than some can afford.

Even though the speeds are reduced while you’re in safety mode, it’s peace of mind that you’re not going to find yourself unable to pay your phone bill next month because of overage.

To know more, you can also read our posts on whether or not Verizon offers prepaid plans, if Verizon offers internet, and what is Verizon Data Boost.

Conclusion

Verizon safety mode is an optional feature that you can enable on your account, so that if anyone goes over allotted data, you won’t be charged hefty overage fees.

However, only certain Verizon plans, such as the Shared plans, are eligible for this feature, and once you’ve entered safety mode, your data speeds will be reduced to 128Kbps.

Photo of author

Florence Howard

Florence Howard has been freelance writing for over a decade, and has a vocational background in retail, tech, and marketing. Outside of work, she enjoys listening to rock and metal, and playing with her dog and cat.

Leave a Comment