Trader Joe’s has lots to offer when it comes to sweets. You may be wondering about its chocolate. Does Trader Joe’s have milk and dark Chocolate? Does it have gluten-free, vegan, or even alcoholic options? Also, is it even good chocolate?
Trader Joe’s chocolate not only tastes great but it’s also made with simple ingredients that are easy to understand. If you are thinking about picking up some chocolate on your next trip to Trader Joe’s, I’ve got 10 things you should know before you do!
10 Things to Know Before Buying Trader Joe’s Chocolate In 2023
1. Trader Joe’s Has Milk Chocolate
From candy-coated chocolate peanuts to chocolate lava cakes, Trader Joe’s has tons of milk chocolate options to choose from.
Some of Trader Joe’s milk chocolate is made with the same ingredients, such as:
- Cocoa butter
- Chocolate liquor
- Whole milk powder
- Soy lecithin
- Natural flavor
2. Trader Joe’s Has Dark Chocolate
Trader Joe’s has a bunch of options when it comes to dark chocolate. Not only does it have chocolate bars, but also peanut butter cups and chocolate orange sticks.
There are also chocolate-covered almonds and chocolate drizzled plantain chips, both of which are made with dark chocolate.
3. Trader Joe’s Has Gluten-Free Chocolate
Trader Joe’s has many options for gluten-free chocolate. Perhaps you would like to try the Oat Chocolate Bars, which are not only gluten-free but also vegan. The ingredients include:
- Cane sugar
- Cocoa butter
- Ground oats
- Cocoa mass
- Rice syrup
- Sunflower lecithin (emulsifier)
- Natural vanilla flavor
I think that we can all agree that a great flavor combination is definitely chocolate and fruit. Luckily, Trader Joe’s also has Dark Chocolate Orange Sticks.
Customers say that although these options are gluten-free, they are still delicious!
4. Trader Joe’s Has Alcoholic Chocolate
Though it may not be available in all states due to stricter alcohol laws, Trader Joe’s does have Chocolate Liqueur Cherries which contain 4.4% alcohol.
You will need to be 21 to purchase these, even though you would have to eat an entire box to have consumed the same amount of alcohol found in a beer.
5. Trader Joe’s Has Vegan Chocolate
Trader Joe’s has a few options for vegan chocolate. In fact, the Chocolate Liqueur Cherries mentioned earlier in this article, are vegan.
Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Sunflower Seed Butter Cups are vegan. The ingredients are as follows:
- Dark chocolate (cocoa mass, cane sugar, cocoa butter)
- Sunflower seeds
- Organic powdered sugar (organic cane sugar, organic tapioca starch)
- Cocoa butter
- Sea salt
Not only does Trader Joe’s have dark chocolate that in most cases is vegan, but it also has vegan milk chocolate.
Its Organic Almond Beverage Milk Chocolate Bar is made with all vegan-friendly ingredients. Below are its listed ingredients:
- Organic cocoa butter
- Organic cane sugar
- Organic cocoa beans
- Organic almond beverage (organic almond flour, water)
- Organic Sunflower Lecithin (emulsifier)
- Sea salt
- Organic ground vanilla beans
Apart from these options, there are many more to choose from.
6. Trader Joe’s Chocolate Is Delicious
According to customer reviews, Trader Joe’s does have good chocolate.
The following are some reviews specifically on Trader Joe’s Criollo Chocolate Bar:
- “Tremendous product and highly recommended. Rare combination for 80% bar of rich, sweet taste without allot of bitter 80% bar.”-Brian
- “High quality, flavorful, smooth, pure dark chocolate. Made in Italy. Incredible value. I can’t imagine it will last long at TJ’s.”-Anonymus
Your favorite might be dark or milk chocolate, crunchy or smooth, or you might have dietary preferences and are looking for a good gluten-free or vegan chocolate.
Whatever the case may be, Trader Joe’s really has something for everyone!
7. Trader Joe’s Doesn’t Make Its Own Chocolate
As you may know, Trader Joe’s doesn’t have a factory where it makes its own products, and that includes chocolate.
Rather, it gets its chocolate from different manufacturers around the country, then puts its own Trader Joe’s label on it.
8. Trader Joe’s Chocolate Is Affordable
Trader Joe’s has a big variety of affordable chocolates to choose from. The price range you will be looking at is about ” to .99.
You can never go wrong with great quality chocolate at such a budget-friendly price.
Along with it being so affordable, Trader Joe’s return policy is amazing, so, even if you don’t like the chocolate you’ve picked out, employees will be happy to return it for you!
There is really no commitment, so if something on the shelf catches your eye, it might be a good idea to toss it in your cart.
9. Trader Joe’s Chocolate Sells Out.
As mentioned before, if you see some chocolate on a Trader Joe’s shelf that catches your eye, you may want to pick it up.
As with many of Trader Joe’s other items, some are seasonal, or for whatever reason, the product may just not be coming back into stock.
You may only have one chance to get that delicious chocolate and give it a try, Therefore, it may be best to give it a try while you still can.
10. Trader Joe’s Doesn’t Have Sugar-Free Chocolate
Unfortunately, Trader Joe’s does not have sugar-free chocolate.
It is important to keep in mind that even though sugar-free chocolate is not instore all year round, it may come in occasionally as a seasonal product.
Whether you like dark or milk chocolate, crunchy or smooth, or you prefer your chocolate with fruit in the middle, you can be sure you’ll find something to soothe your sweet tooth at Trader Joe’s! The store also has multiple vegan and gluten-free options to suit your dietary needs.
When it comes to affordable and delicious options, one thing is for sure- Trader Joe’s, like its chocolate, has got you covered.