Gluten-free options can be difficult to come by at fast-food restaurants that serve wheat-based products in many of their menu items.
If you’re looking for information on gluten-free options at Dairy Queen, you’ve come to the right place. I’ve compiled information in this article for those who need to know which items at DQ are compatible with their dietary restrictions!
Is Dairy Queen Gluten-Free In 2023?
Dairy Queen has many gluten-free options for food, treats, and drinks as of 2023. Keep in mind that food preparation spaces are typically shared with food that contains gluten, so cross-contamination is possible. If you want to ensure you’re getting no trace of gluten in your order, it’s best to get a Dilly Bar or similarly manufactured treat.
There is more to know about gluten-free items at Dairy Queen, so keep reading to learn my findings!
Does Dairy Queen Soft-Serve Have Gluten?
Dairy Queen’s soft serve does not contain gluten. However, the cones it is often served in do contain wheat.
So, if you are gluten sensitive and want to order DQ soft serve, try ordering a sundae. Also, all of the standard topping options for Dairy Queen sundaes are gluten-free.
Are Any Dairy Queen Blizzards Gluten-Free?
While many Blizzard flavors contain gluten due to the added toppings, there are a few that do not contain gluten.
That said, the least likely standard Blizzard flavor to contain traces of gluten is the Turtle Pecan Cluster Blizzard.
Moreover, limited-time Blizzard flavors that don’t contain gluten or wheat include Cotton Candy and Very Cherry Chip.
Also, there may be other seasonal flavors or varieties available at individual locations that are gluten-free, so you may want to call your local DQ to check current menu items.
Finally, keep in mind that shared containers and food prep spaces make cross-contamination likely, especially regarding items like Blizzards.
Are Dairy Queen Fries Gluten-Free?
Dairy Queen’s fries do not contain wheat or gluten. But, keep in mind that many Dairy Queen locations use shared frying baskets and oil, so cross-contamination is possible.
If traces of gluten are a concern for you, try calling your local Dairy Queen to ask what the gluten safety protocols are.
With that, it may be that some locations use separate frying equipment for gluten-free orders.
Are Dairy Queen Dilly Bars Gluten-Free?
The manufactured Dilly Bar from Dairy Queen is gluten-free. That said, it is one of Dairy Queen’s recommended items for those with gluten intolerance.
Moreover, additional manufactured gluten-free items that you’ll find at participating DQ locations include:
- Buster Bars
- Fudge Bars
- Vanilla Orange Bars,
- Starkiss bars
Is Dairy Queen Gravy Gluten-Free?
Dairy Queen’s gravy contains wheat flour, so it is not gluten-free. There are, however, other sauces and condiments at Dairy Queen that are gluten-free, including:
- BBQ sauce
- Honey mustard
- Buffalo sauce
- Zesty queso
Is The Hot Fudge At Dairy Queen Gluten-Free?
Dairy Queen’s hot fudge is gluten-free, making it an excellent option for topping sundaes and other treats.
Are Dairy Queen Sprinkles Gluten-Free?
DQ sprinkles do not contain gluten, so you can try adding them to your soft serve sundae.
Is There Gluten In A Dairy Queen Ice Cream Cake?
Yes, Dairy Queen cakes contain gluten due to the cookie crumble ingredient between the soft serve and fudge layers.
Are Dairy Queen Chicken Bites Gluten-Free?
Regular Rotisserie-Style Chicken Bites from Dairy Queen are gluten-free. But, keep in mind that cross-contamination may occur due to the environment in which the food is prepared.
Are Dairy Queen Shakes Gluten-Free?
None of Dairy Queen’s shakes or malt flavors contain gluten.
What Other Items at Dairy Queen Are Gluten-Free?
Some additional DQ food items that do not contain gluten ingredients include:
- Grilled Chicken patty (without a bun)
- Hamburger patty (without a bun)
- GrillBurger™ patty (without a bun)
- Hot Dog frank (without a bun)
Moreover, other gluten-free drink options include:
- Arctic Rush slushes
- MooLatte frozen blended coffee drinks (vanilla, caramel, and mocha)
- All fountain soda flavors
To learn more, you can also read our posts on whether or not Dairy Queen has coffee, is Dairy Queen ice cream lactose-free, and does Dairy Queen has smoothies.
Dairy Queen has several gluten-free options on its menu, including classic soft-serve sundaes, fries, certain Blizzard flavors, rotisserie chicken bites, and other sides, sauces, and toppings.
Also, Dairy Queen often uses shared frying equipment between all of its fried menu items and shared food preparation areas, so gluten cross-contamination is likely.
So, if you don’t want any trace of gluten in your Dairy Queen order, try a Dilly Bar, Fudge Bar, Vanilla Orange Bar, or Starkiss treat.