Lactose intolerance is a common condition that affects many. Therefore, it is essential to know which items contain dairy and lactose when visiting fast-food restaurants.
Although plenty of ice cream brands offer lactose-free products, it can be a challenge to find these options at restaurants. Before stopping by Dairy Queen, look at this article to find out whether the ice cream there is lactose-free!
Is Dairy Queen Ice Cream Lactose-Free In 2023?
Since Dairy Queen makes its soft serve with real milk and milkfat, it contains lactose as of 2023. All items in Dairy Queen’s signature soft serve will contain lactose. Still, you can get a dairy-free Dilly Bar, which is made with coconut cream and vegan chocolate. Dilly Bars are available at participating locations.
There is more to know about lactose in various Dairy Queen menu items, so keep reading to see all my findings!
Is Dairy Queen’s Ice Cream Dairy-Free?
Dairy Queen’s soft serve contains milk and milkfat, so it is not dairy-free.
However, a misconception has circulated about the soft serve that since it is not considered ice cream by the FDA, it must not contain dairy.
That said, the FDA requires that the ice cream contains at least 10% milkfat, while Dairy Queen’s soft serve contains only 5% milkfat. Still, this does not mean that it is dairy-free.
There is, however, a dairy-free ice cream option at Dairy Queen, the vegan Dilly Bar, which is sold pre-packaged at participating locations.
What Is A Dairy Queen Dilly Bar?
The Dilly Bar is a classic Dairy Queen ice cream treat. Further, it is made with a round disk of DQ ice cream frozen and poked onto a popsicle stick.
Then, the entire thing is dipped in chocolate.
Moreover, Dairy Queen released a vegan version of the classic Dilly Bar, sold at participating locations and is made with dairy-free coconut cream and vegan chocolate.
As you can imagine, the vegan Dilly Bar is an excellent option for customers at Dairy Queen who are lactose-intolerant.
Is There A Lactose-Free Blizzard At Dairy Queen?
All Dairy Queen Blizzard treats are made with the same soft serve. So, since the soft serve is made with standard milk products, all Blizzards from Dairy Queen will contain lactose.
However, there are plenty of recipes detailing how to make your own dairy-free or lactose-free Blizzard at home.
Can I Get A Lactose-Free Dairy Queen Cake?
All DQ Cakes are made with the company’s signature soft serve, meaning there are no current ways to make your DQ cake lactose-free since the dairy-filled soft serve is the main ingredient.
What Is A Dairy Queen StarKiss Made Of?
A Dairy Queen StarKiss is a signature fruity popsicle sold at some Dairy Queen locations.
Moreover, it is dairy-free and made with water, sugar, corn syrup, and natural and artificial flavors that include juice concentrate.
However, it is no longer on the official Dairy Queen menu, although some franchise locations still offer the StarKiss frozen treats sold in boxes.
What Is Dairy Queen Soft-Serve Ice Cream Made Of?
Dairy Queen makes its soft serve with numerous ingredients, although the main ones are nonfat milk and milk fat.
Also, the soft serve contains binding agents and elements that make the soft serve smoother in consistency.
What Other Lactose-Free Options Does Dairy Queen Offer?
Aside from vegan Dilly Bars and StarKiss treats, a good lactose-free option for sweet treats at Dairy Queen is the misty slush, containing no dairy.
With that, Misty Slushes at Dairy Queen come in varying flavors, depending on the location, but are reliably lactose-free.
However, these are not to be confused with Misty Freezes, which contain soft-serve.
Still, there are plenty of dairy-free food items at Dairy Queen, including fries, pretzel sticks, and a side salad.
Also, you can order a hamburger minus the cheese for a lactose-free meal, as the bun, patty, and other toppings likely won’t contain dairy.
In addition, there are soft drinks at Dairy Queen if you’re looking for an easy lactose-free beverage.
Finally, you can also get applesauce or a banana from the kid’s menu at participating locations.
To learn more, you can also see our posts on whether or not Dairy Queen has breakfast, is Dairy Queen halal, and does Dairy Queen have smoothies.
Dairy Queen makes its soft serve with standard milk and milkfat, which means it does contain lactose.
Therefore, any items from Dairy Queen made with the signature soft serve will also contain lactose.
So, the main option for lactose-free ice cream at Dairy Queen is the non-dairy Dilly Bar, which is made with coconut cream and chocolate coating.