Is Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Vegan? (All You Need To Know)

Over the years, Starbucks Coffee Company has established itself as one of the world’s largest coffeehouses specializing in freshly brewed Arabica coffee.

However, one question that keeps popping up among Starbucks’ vegan customers is whether its Pumpkin Spice is vegan. So, is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice vegan? I delved deeper and researched about this, and this is what I discovered!

Is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Vegan In 2022?

Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice is vegan in 2022. The coffeehouse blends several spices (nutmeg, cloves, ginger, cinnamon, allspice, pumpkin) to make its Pumpkin Spice. However, most autumnal pumpkin-spiced delicacies at Starbucks aren’t vegan. For instance, the company incorporates non-vegan ingredients such as cream, eggs, and butter in some of its pumpkin-spiced beverages and food.

To find out whether Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice, Pumpkin Spice Latte, and Pumpkin Spice Sauce are vegan, keep scrolling!

Is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte Vegan?

No, Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte is not vegan.

That said, the customer’s favorite beverage is made with steamed milk, Starbucks’s signature espresso, and a blend of clove, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin flavors.

In addition, the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks Coffee Company is topped with pumpkin pie spices and whipped cream, making it a non-vegan menu item.

What’s more, even if you choose to order the drink with non-dairy milk such as almond milk or oat milk, the drink won’t be vegan.

With that, Starbucks makes its Pumpkin Spice Latte with Pumpkin Spice Sauce which, in turn, is a combination of sugar and milk.

Thus, if you come across a drink at Starbucks that contains Pumpkin Spice Sauce, it cannot be considered a vegan beverage.

In fact, the Seattle-based coffee company doesn’t certify its menu items as vegan-certified since there’s always the risk of contamination by its non-vegan products.

So, it would be ideal if you first ensured that the Starbucks menu item you’re interested in is vegan-certified before placing your order.

Further, you can order the Pumpkin Spice Latte while hot or iced, depending on your dietary preference, in any Starbucks outlet.

Is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Creamer Vegan?

Yes, Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Creamer is vegan.

Unlike Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, the coffeehouse chain makes pumpkin spice creamers by blending plant-based oat milk and almond milk.

In addition, pumpkin, nutmeg, and cinnamon flavors are added to the famed vegan creamer to ensure it pairs well with Arabica coffee.

Nonetheless, it’s essential to note that the iconic Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte inspired this vegan-friendly and plant-based creamer.

Thus, the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Creamer tastes more or less like Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte, only that it’s not made using dairy products.

Moreover, you can place your order for the Pumpkin Spice Creamer in any Starbucks outlet worldwide at $4.99 a bottle. 

Besides Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Creamer, other vegan creamers that the multinational coffee chain offers include the Starbucks Hazelnut Creamer and Caramel Creamer.

Is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Topping And Syrup Vegan?

Is Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Topping And Syrup Vegan?

While Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Topping is vegan, Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Syrup is not vegan.

That said, Starbucks makes its Pumpkin Spice Syrup by blending condensed skimmed milk, pumpkin puree, fruit juice, natural flavors, sugar, salt, and preservatives.

On top of that, condensed skimmed milk makes the syrup and all other Starbucks products made with the sauce non-vegan.

On the other hand, Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Topping features ginger, cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, and sprinkled sulfating agents.

So, the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Topping is vegan since it doesn’t contain any dairy or animal products.

Thus, you can order vanilla or plain latte with oat or almond milk at Starbucks and ask for the vegan-friendly pumpkin spice topping.

Which Products Are Vegan-Certified At Starbucks?

Starbucks Coffee Company is often not synonymous with vegan products since its beverages and food are mainly made with whipped cream, milk, and honey.

Nonetheless, while none of the coffee chain’s beverages and food are vegan-certified, Starbucks has started serving dairy-free and plant-based menu options.

For instance, the chain offers a Coconut Milk Latte, which features blended Starbucks Blonde Espresso Shots, Cascara sugar sprinkles, and streamed Coconut milk.

Also, Starbucks started offering Cold Brew with Oat Milk, Cinnamon Almond Milk Foam, and Dark Cocoa Almond Milk Foam as a whole milk substitute at its select locations in 2020.

In addition, the American coffee company has the Iced Pineapple Matcha Drink, which is made with matcha green tea, pineapple, tangy ginger flavors, creamy coconut milk, and ice.

If that’s not enough, you can order a cup of Iced Guava Passionfruit beverage at Starbucks as a vegan since it features a guava juice blend, pineapple ginger syrup, coconut milk, and ice.

Further, you can substitute oat milk or almond milk for whole milk in Starbucks’ lattes, macchiatos, or cappuccinos.

Still, other vegan-certified products at Starbucks include Plain Bagels, Everything Bagels, Cinnamon Raisin Bagels, and Sprouted Grain Bagels.

Overall, always check the ingredients of Starbucks’ drinks and food online or ask ahead to ensure that your drink or food doesn’t contain non-vegan sweeteners or dairy.

To know more, you can also read our posts on what are Starbucks refreshers, does Starbucks sells decaf iced coffee, and Starbucks Chocolate Chip Frappuccino.

Conclusion

Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice is vegan since it’s made with nutmeg, cloves, ginger, cinnamon, allspice, and pumpkin spices.

However, some of Starbucks’ pumpkin spiced beverages and food aren’t vegan since they contain dairy products.

Thus, do your research online or ask ahead of time whether the menu item at Starbucks you are interested in is vegan-certified before placing your order.

Photo of author

Marques Thomas

Marques Thomas graduated with a MBA in 2011. Since then, Marques has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Marques is also the head writer and founder of QuerySprout.com.

Leave a Comment