With the diverse ingredients used by Popeyes to make its iconic food items, most customers have always been extra conscious of what is used to make the food.
Due to the consciousness arising from religious beliefs and health grounds among consumers, most people wonder, “Is there pork in Popeyes gravy?” Here’s what I discovered!
Is There Pork In Popeyes Gravy In 2023?
Popeyes’ gravy has some pork, making it a non-vegetarian meal as of 2023. Although the secret recipe of Popeyes’ gravy is unknown to many, several sources have confirmed the use of bacon or ground pork in making the gravy. Due to the use of pork in the gravy, the finished sauce is not considered halal.
If you want to find more information about Popeyes’ gravy, the ingredients, if it is considered vegetarian, and much more, keep reading!
What Is Popeyes’ Gravy Made From?
Although Popeyes’ gravy (Cajun gravy) has secret ingredients used in making the restaurant’s special gravy, several sources confirm the following ingredients are present in Popeyes’ gravy:
- Vegetable oil
- Ground beef
- Ground pork
- Chicken gizzard
- Minced green bell pepper
- Beef broth
- All-purpose flour
- White vinegar
- Granulated sugar
- Ground black pepper
- Garlic powder
- Cayenne pepper
- Onion powder
- Dried parsley flakes
Although Popeyes’ gravy may seem vegetarian, it has several meaty ingredients used to get the real flavor of the gravy.
Moreover, the pork ingredient used in the making of the gravy makes the condiment not halal.
What Is The Nutritional Value Of Popeyes’ Gravy?
Since Popeyes’ gravy is served with mashed potatoes, the nutritional information provided on the company’s menu gives the values of the combination and not separately.
That said, the nutritional value for a single serving of regular mashed potatoes with Cajun gravy is as follows:
- Calories: 32.7 kcal
- Fat: 1.2 grams
- Saturated fat: 0.3 grams
- Trans fat: 1 grams
- Cholesterol: 0.3 milligrams
- Sodium: 197.5 milligrams
- Carbohydrates: 5.8 grams
- Fiber: 0.4 grams
- Sugar: 0.4 grams
- Proteins: 0.8 grams
What Kind Of Meat Is In Popeyes Gravy?
As per the ingredients used in making Popeyes’ gravy, the meat used in the condiment includes pork, chicken, and beef.
Moreover, the meat used in the broth helps to increase its flavor.
How Do They Make Popeyes’ Gravy With Pork?
First, to make Popeyes gravy, one has to assemble the ingredients in the following quantities:
- One tablespoon vegetable oil
- One chicken gizzard
- Two tablespoons minced green bell pepper
- ¼ cup ground beef
- ¼ cup ground pork
- Two cups water
- 14 ounces of beef broth
- Two tablespoons corn starch
- One tablespoon all-purpose flour
- Two teaspoon milk
- Two teaspoon distilled white vinegar
- One teaspoon of granulated sugar
- One teaspoon salt
- ½ teaspoon coarse ground black pepper
- ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
- ⅛ teaspoon garlic powder
- ⅛ teaspoon onion powder
- Dash dried parsley flakes
With these ingredients, Popeyes’ gravy is made using the following cooking instructions:
- Heat vegetable oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.
- Ensure you sauté the chicken gizzard in the heated oil for approximately four to five minutes until it is cooked.
- Remove the gizzard from the pan and allow it to cool.
- When the gizzard is cooled, mince it.
- Combine ground pork and ground beef. Use your hands to mix until well mixed.
- Add bell pepper into the saucepan and sauté it for approximately one minute.
- Add the ground beef and pork into the pan and cook them until brown.
- As the meat browns, mash them into tiny pieces.
- Add the beef broth and water into the saucepan, then immediately whisk in flour and cornstarch.
- Add remaining ingredients, mix well and bring to boil.
- Reduce the heat and simmer the gravy for about 30- 35 minutes until it is thick.
However, it is essential to remember that Popeyes has not revealed its recipe and cooking instructions for making the famous gravy.
That said, the above cooking instructions were produced by copycat recipe makers who try to recreate Popeyes’ gravy.
Does Popeyes Use Pork Oil In Gravy?
Popeyes does not use pork oil when making the gravy. Instead, the restaurant uses vegetable oil to make the Cajun gravy.
Does Popeyes’ Gravy Have Beef?
Yes, Popeyes’ gravy has ground beef as part of the ingredients.
Is Popeyes’ Gravy Vegetarian?
Unfortunately, Popeyes’ gravy is non-vegetarian, although the mashed potatoes served with it might come across as vegetarian.
Further, the thick and luscious gravy at the restaurant is made of several non-vegan ingredients such as pork base, whey, beef base, and gelatin, among other elements.
How Much Is Popeyes’ Gravy?
Since Popeyes serves its gravy with mashed potatoes, the price of the gravy is not given as an individual food item.
Therefore, the prices of the mashed potatoes with Cajun gravy are as follows:
- $1.79 for a regular serving
- $3.99 for a large serving
In conclusion, Popeyes’ gravy has grounded pork, making the condiment not halal.
Although the gravy is served with mashed potatoes and is assumed to be vegetarian, Popeyes’ gravy is not vegetarian due to the meat ingredients.