Does Subway’s Veggie Patty Have Egg? (+ Other Common FAQs)

Subway is an excellent option for many people looking for a quick bite or a meal out. And with a variety of options for meats and vegetables, Subway can be a healthy choice for lunch or dinner!

But, vegetarians might be wondering about their options when dining at Subway, such as the famous Veggie Patty. Does the Subway Veggie Patty have egg? I did some research into it, and here’s everything I discovered about the topic!

Does Subway’s Veggie Patty Have Egg In 2022?

The Subway Veggie Patty does have egg in it as of 2022. However, this can be problematic for any vegans who don’t know about the ingredients. But most vegetarians or those looking for a meat-free option can eat the Veggie Patty. Still, Subway’s Veggie Patty is a healthy option while still containing egg, dairy, and gluten.

If you want more information on the Subway Veggie Patty, what it is made of, the health benefits, and more common questions about Subway’s vegetarian options, keep on reading!

Are The Veggie Patties At Subway Vegan?

Unfortunately, the Veggie Patty at Subway is not a suitable product for vegans.

Not only does it contain eggs as a binding ingredient and source of protein, but it also includes dairy in the form of calcium caseinate.

Therefore, the Subway Veggie Patty is a no-no for anyone abstaining from animal products.

Though the Veggie Patty is not suitable for building your vegan meal, Subway does offer several other options that cater to the vegan diet, including falafels and vegetable subs.

What Is Subway’s Veggie Patty Made Of?

What Is Subway's Veggie Patty Made Of?

While the Subway Veggie Patty is not vegan, it’s still a good option for vegetarians and contains many healthy ingredients.

For example, apart from the possible allergens of egg, dairy, soy, and gluten, the Veggie Patty also relies on various vegetable products and other ingredients to make a delicious and filling patty.

That said, the following ingredients are included in the Subway Veggie Patty:

  • A mix of vegetables (including black olives, carrots, green bell peppers, mushrooms, onions, red bell peppers, and water chestnuts)
  • Brown rice
  • Calcium caseinate
  • Cornstarch
  • Cottonseed oil
  • Dextrose
  • Dried jalapeno peppers
  • Egg whites
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Rolled oats
  • Soy proteins
  • Soy sauce
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower oil
  • Water
  • Wheat gluten
  • Various spices
  • Vegetable proteins
  • Yeast extract

Depending on the store location and the availability of produce, the Veggie Patty might contain some alternate ingredients like celery, leeks, potato starch, or zucchini.

With that, the best way to find out precisely what’s in Subway’s Veggie Patty and its nutritional information is by looking at the company’s handy Allergy and Sensitivity list.

Is The Subway Veggie Patty Good?

Yes, it is! The Subway Veggie Patty is a popular addition to the menu, being full of flavor and delicious when served either hot or cold.

But, the trick to tastiness is to not overload the sandwich or salad with too much sauce that will make the Veggie Patty soggy!

In all, it’s an excellent option for anyone who wants more than just vegetables on their sandwich or if falafels are not available in your location.

What Other Vegetarian Options Does Subway Have?

Subway does have a few other choices for those who are vegetarian or just trying to avoid eating as much meat.

Apart from the Veggie Patty, you can choose a Veggie Delite sub or wrap, or one of the limited availability Meatless Meatball Marinara subs—just make sure to ask for no cheese if you cannot eat dairy.

Additionally, Subway’s chopped salads are another great option, without the meat toppings.

In fact, you can order the Veggie Patty as part of your greens toppings or even the plant-based meatballs!

Alternatively, if you live in Connecticut, Florida, Los Angeles, or Washington D.C., try out the Subway Malibu Vegan Patty, available exclusively in those locations.

To learn more, you can also check our posts on whether or not Subway has a seafood sub, if Subway has pizza, and if Subway wraps are gluten-free.

Conclusion

Yes, the Subway Veggie Patty does contain eggs in the ingredients, making it unsuitable for vegans or those who don’t eat egg products as part of their diet.

However, the rest of the ingredients make it a healthy option, including vegetables and soy proteins.

Also, according to customers, the Veggie Patty from Subway is a tasty way to avoid eating meat!

Photo of author

Marques Thomas

Marques Thomas graduated with a MBA in 2011. Since then, Marques has worked in the retail and consumer service industry as a manager, advisor, and marketer. Marques is also the head writer and founder of QuerySprout.com.

Leave a Comment