In 1946, Truett Cathy, Chick-Fil-A’s founder, decided for the restaurant to close on Sundays in a bid to set aside a day for employees to rest and worship if they’d like to.
Due to the restaurant’s commitment to this practice, many Muslims have often asked, “is Chick-Fil-A halal?” Here’s what I discovered!
Is Chick-Fil-A Halal In 2022?
Chick-Fil-A is not halal according to Islamic standards as of 2022. The restaurant does not guarantee food preparation as per the rules of Shariah Law, making most of its food items haram. Although the restaurant’s main dishes are not halal, some of the menu items are halal and can be purchased by individuals from the Islamic community.
If you want to find more information on whether Chick-Fil-A is halal or haram, the halal food items, and the reasons for being haram, keep reading!
Is Chick-Fil-A Halal Or Haram?
Unfortunately, since Chick-Fil-A is not considered halal, it is haram.
So, although some side items on the restaurant’s menu are halal-friendly, the chicken and sandwiches (which are the main items on the restaurant’s menu) are not halal.
According to the company, the restaurant cannot tailor menu items that cater to all preferences due to its diverse customer base.
Why Is Chick-Fil-A Not Halal?
One of the main reasons Chick-Fil-A is not halal is that some of the halal chicken at the restaurant is mixed with non-halal chicken.
With that, the concept of food being halal is dependent on the interpretation of the ayah in the Ahlul Kitab (People of the Book) about food.
Also, some individuals believe Muslims can eat food slaughtered by Christians and Jews, although this depends on what you believe.
On the other hand, some individuals feel it is essential to recite Allah before killing an animal, while others feel it is unnecessary.
Can Muslims Have All Chick-Fil-A Menu Items?
Since Chick-Fil-A is not halal, Muslims cannot have food items at the restaurant considered haram.
However, Muslims can still purchase side items that are not haram at the restaurant.
What Food Items Is Halal On Chick-Fil-A’s Menu?
Although Chick-Fil-A is not considered halal, the following food items are halal-friendly:
- Fruit cup
- Side salads
- Hash browns
- English muffin
- Waffle potato chips
- Waffle cut potato chips
Moreover, it is always important to check your local Chick-Fil-A menu to confirm the availability of the items mentioned above and check if more items are halal.
How Does Chick-Fil-A Slaughter Chickens?
Although the company does not reveal the method of slaughtering chickens, most sources reveal that the chickens are electronically stunned before slaughter so that they do not feel the pain.
According to the National Chicken Council, stunning the chickens renders them unconscious before slaughtering, and hence they become insensitive to pain.
Then, once the chickens have been transported to a stunning electric bath, they are cut by a mechanical knife.
However, this chicken slaughtering method has been met with concerns since it was revealed some chickens were immersed in the scalding tank without being fully unconscious.
What Religion Base Is Chick-Fil-A?
Chick-Fil-A is based on the Christian religion.
Truett Cathy, the restaurant chain founder, consistently made business decisions based on his Christian beliefs.
Before his death, the founder made a contract with his children agreeing never to make the business public, which could affect the business’s overtly religious mission statement.
Furthermore, the restaurant’s headquarters also displays religious artwork, including Bible quotes and crosses.
What Are Chick-Fil-A’s Halal Substitutes?
Since Chick-Fil-A is not halal, Muslims can visit other franchises and restaurants that offer halal food. For example, such restaurants include the following:
Pizza Hut is one of the most popular restaurants with halal meat in most store locations.
Paradise Biryani Pointe
As a restaurant specializing in traditional Hyderabad Nawabi food, all meat and chicken at the restaurant are halal.
Kennedy Or Crown Fried Chicken
Crown/Kennedy Fried Chicken restaurants serve halal chicken.
The Halal Guys
With a specialty in chicken and gyro over rice, the restaurant recognized the great demand for halal food and began serving food items prepared as per Islamic dietary requirements.
Krispy Krunchy Chicken
The Islamic Society of the Washington Ares has certified some Krispy Krunchy Chicken outlets since they offer halal options.
Also, the Islamic Society of the Washington Area ascertains that the chickens are mechanically slaughtered with Muslims reciting tasmiah (bismillah Allahu akbar) on-site.
Elevation Burger’s corporate confirms via Twitter and Facebook that the beef served at the restaurant is halal.
That said, as one of the most innovative burger chains in the US, the meat for the non-vegetarian burgers is also USDA-certified organic, grass-fed, and free-range beef.
Subway is popular for serving Halal meat in most of its store locations in the US as well as Canada, Australia, and the UK.
Also, the halal meat served at Subway is approved by the Islamic Council of Britain.
In conclusion, Chick-Fil-A does not offer halal food items that contain meat, such as chicken.
Although the restaurant is not halal, Muslims can still purchase food items generally not considered haram.