Most companies have a policy in place that allows employees to take time off when a family member or loved one passes away.
There is no law in the US regarding bereavement policies, so every employer’s policy will be different. If you’re one of Lowe’s 300,000 employees, you may be wondering what their bereavement policy looks like. Here’s what I found out!
What Is Lowe’s Bereavement Policy?
Lowe’s offers bereavement leave to all of its employees. This includes 3 days off for the death of an immediate family member and 1 day off for extended family. Additionally, employees are entitled to 3 paid days off for bereavement per calendar year, not per bereavement.
To find out more about Lowe’s bereavement policy, including how you will be paid and whether or not you will need to provide proof, keep reading!
Does Lowe’s Offer Paid Bereavement Leave?
Lowe’s employees are entitled to 3 paid days off for the bereavement of an immediate family member and 1 paid day off for extended family.
How much you are paid will depend on whether you are a full-time, part-time, or seasonal team member, the hours of work you missed, and your rate of pay.
Who Is Considered an Immediate Family Member in Lowe’s Bereavement Policy?
Lowe’s offers three days of compassionate leave following the death of an immediate family member.
Immediate family includes:
- Parents, stepparents, adopted parents and in-laws
- Children (including stepchildren and foster children)
- Siblings, step-siblings and half-siblings
Extended family refers to aunts, uncles, and cousins, for example. Bereavement can also include miscarriage or stillbirth.
Lowe’s may also offer compassionate leave for close friends, but it is up to the individual store manager to decide whether or not bereavement leave will be given and how many days.
Is Lowe’s Legally Required To Offer Bereavement Leave To Employees?
Although Lowe’s does offer paid bereavement leave, they are not legally obligated to do so. While some countries do have laws surrounding bereavement policies, the US does not have a law in place.
However, most employers do offer bereavement leave of around 1-3 days.
The only state that requires companies with over 25 employees to offer bereavement leave by law is Oregon.
As a larger corporation, Lowe’s stores in Oregon are legally obliged to grant all employees 3 days of paid bereavement leave.
Do I Need To Provide Proof Of Bereavement as a Lowe’s Employee?
Like all employers, Lowe’s reserves the right to ask for proof of death for bereavement leave.
This could be an obituary from a local newspaper, a program card from the funeral, or a copy of the death certificate.
Can Bereavement Leave Be Extended at Lowe’s?
After the death of a family member, you may require more time off than the three days of bereavement leave that Lowe’s offers.
Once an employee has used their 3 days paid days off for bereavement, it is up to the store manager whether or not this can be extended.
However, anything beyond the first three days may not be paid or protected.
How Many Times Can You Use Bereavement Leave at Lowe’s?
Lowe’s employees are offered three paid days of bereavement every calendar year, not per incident of bereavement.
If employees need more time off for bereavement than Lowe’s offer, they can ask their manager if an extension is possible or use their vacation time.
What Is the Lowe’s Employee Relief Fund (LERF)?
The Lowe’s Employee Relief Fund is a program to help employees cope with unexpected hardships that place financial stress on their families.
Some of the unforeseen hardships that LERF can be used to overcome include the death of an associate or family member, medical expenses, and expenses due to natural disasters like floods and other natural disasters.
Lowe’s associates contribute to the Relief Fund, and Lowe’s will match their contributions dollar for dollar.
In its 20 years of operation, Lowe’s Employee Relief Fund has helped more than 33,000 Lowe’s associates with more than $39 million.